Thursday, November 18, 2010

State to get 2 innovative varsities - The legislation aims to turn the University of Mysore and Karnatak University (Dharwad) into model universities for excellence in the state.

Source: Times of India
BANGALORE: One university with two systems of governance, freedom for students to switch from one subject to another, flexi working hours and research project for every faculty, an induction programme with free classes on life/soft skills for every enrolled student and twinning programmes with foreign and other Indian universities.

All these radical changes are part of the landmark legislation __ Karnataka State Innovative Universities Bill, 2010 __ that will be placed before the cabinet for approval on Thursday. The legislation aims to turn the University of Mysore and Karnatak University (Dharwad) into model universities for excellence in the state.

Under the proposed bill, the two universities will have a new system of governance. The position of chancellor, vice-chancellor, registrar and syndicate will be done away with. These universities will be governed by a visitor, who will be an eminent scholar or professional; a president chosen among distinguished academics with capacities for managing large educational organisations and two directors __ one to deal with research and post-graduate education and other to handle affiliated and autonomous colleges.

"The proposed bill is based on a recommendation made by the Karnataka Knowledge Commission (KKC). The idea is to exclude the two universities from the Karnataka State Universities Act, 2000 and have a separate legislation to promote excellence. I have discussed the bill with law minister and we will seek cabinet approval on Thursday," higher education minister V S Acharya told TOI.

In addition to UG programmes, every school of the university will offer an integrated PG and integrated PhD programme. Choice-based credit system will be offered to students to enable them to acquire credits from different clusters. Students will be allowed to move from one subject to another area, subject to certain conditions, within the purview of the school.

Every faculty will be asked to take up at least one research project and will have flexi working hours for consultancy and participation in extension services. The research carried out by the university will be published through an exclusive press to be set up on the lines of the Oxford University.

Schools of management, social sciences and humanities will have at least one international programme and the two universities will be allowed to twinning programmes in collaboration with Indian and foreign universities.

The Union HRD ministry is planning to set up 14 innovation universities across the country including one in Mysore.


* There will be two directors (similar to the current vice-chancellors). An eminent academic will look after research and PG education, while another director will be in charge of affiliated and autonomous colleges. The term will be for 5 years

* University court: Advisory body with members from IIM-B, IISc, IIIT-B, ISEC and CII

* University ombudsman: Three-member body of retired professionals/scholars with members of integrity and scholarship. Will receive complaints, address grievances and facilitate good governance

* Manager: Will replace the existing registrars. Will be an expert from administrative and management background

* Board of Governors: Will replace syndicate. Will have members from civil society, professionals and industry

No comments: